Meal Planning Is Worth the Effort

As a mom, there are three main excuses that usually stand in the way of preparing healthy meals for my family:

  1. I don’t have time.
  2. I don’t have the right ingredients.
  3. I don’t feel like it.

With the exception of #3, these excuses are easily put to rest by proper meal planning. If I sit down at the beginning of the week and map out my meals, generate a shopping list based on those meals, and only buy what’s on the list, we eat healthier and I almost always spend less as well. It’s the weeks when we don’t prepare that I tend to flake out, panic because “there isn’t any food in the house,” and make poor food choices.

For the last few weeks, we’ve been tracking our meals every day in an effort to see where we can improve. I get a lot of questions from people about what we eat, so I thought I would start sharing some of our food journals here.  I will include recipes when I can or links to books/websites where you can find them.

THURSDAY, MAY 8

Breakfast: Bulletproof coffee – We drink this first thing when we wake up, before the kids get out of bed.

Frittata, grapefruit, almond milk – Then when the children wake up, we all eat together.

Notes: We love this frittata recipe, and it usually lasts us two days. It’s the Porktastic Frittata recipe from the book “Beyond Bacon,” which I reviewed here at Breaking Muscle.

20140126_110313

Lunch: Salad with grilled chicken, fresh goat cheese, walnuts, roasted butternut squash cubes (frozen), fresh baby greens, strawberries, tomatoes, and balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil. Drink: Sparkling water

Notes: This sounds more complicated than it is. We make salads like this all the time.  All I did was grill some chicken in a cast iron skillet and roast some frozen butternut squash, then mixed it all together with some white wine vinegar and oil. Easy! You could also grill the chicken in advance to make it even quicker.

20140223_144659

Dinner: Bunless burgers, grilled mushrooms (Recipe from the book “Against All Grain“), mashed sweet potatoes (DON’T FORGET THE BUTTER), side salad. Drink: Water with lemon

20140310_193320

For a morning snack, we had small bowls of homemade chicken soup (the baby had the blended version), and for an afternoon snack we had this delicious sorbet. A refreshing treat with no added sugar!

Leave a Reply

